EXHIBITIONS: IAC and swissceramics

Cage d’escalier monumentale du Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel (MahN) / Photo Stefano Iori

 

IAC and swissceramics

 

For the 70th anniversary of the International Academy of Ceramics (IAC), the Ariana Museum is devoting three exhibitions to it: one to its members and two to its history. A fourth exhibition organised by the IAC will take place at the prestigious Palais des Nations of the UN. At the same time, the swissceramics association is organising a national exhibition in two locations, the Château de Nyon and the Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, thus presenting an image of the current Swiss ceramics scene.

* Please note that the information on this page is subject to modifications and updates.
 

Musée Ariana

 

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

MIGRATION(S)

Curator: Hanspeter Dähler

Through the transfer of know-how, transhumance and multiculturalism, clay brings people together and breaks down borders. Footprints in the sand, bundles, doner kebabs, chrysalises, funeral boats or porcelain huts: the exhibition of IAC members immerses us into the heart of unusual journeys, life trajectories and intercultural exchanges.

Featuring the artwork of Montserrat Altet Girbau, Lia Bagrationi, Heidi Bjørgan, Leandre Burkhard, Razalina Busel, Fabien Clerc, Christine Coste, Michael Flynn, Yoshimi Futamura, Magdalena Gerber, Patricia Glave, Ana Lucia Gomez De Valle, Eliisa Isoniemi, Rashi Jain, Yanze JIANG, Jacques Kaufmann, Cecil Kemperink, Myung-joo Kim, Yoojoo Kim, Paul March, Yuriy Musatov, Jane Norbury, Danijela Pičuljan, Norma Rodney Harrack, Maude Schneider, Anja Seiler, Sıdıka Sevim, Adel Souki, Hongyu Tan, Hirotsune Tashima, Xavier Toubes, Estefania Valls Urquijo, Nataliya Zuban.

Opening: 12.09.2022

On the agenda: under development.

Tue-Sun 10am-6pm

Avenue de la Paix 10
CH- 1202 Geneva
In the centre of international Geneva and home of the IAC, easily accessible by public transport TPG.

Website

 

 

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

CONNECTIONS: 50 YEARS OF DONATIONS

Curator: Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida

From the 1960s to the present day, the Ariana Museum, the cradle of the IAC, has received nearly 600 donations from member artists. Vessels, sculptures, installations from all over the world and selected works assemble a ceramic cartography from craftsmanship and formal freedom to tradition and innovation.

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

VOCATION: 70 YEARS OF HISTORY

Curator: Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida

The IAC has brought together an international community of ceramic professionals at its best. By postulating the universality of ceramic culture as a founding value, the IAC aims to be an actor of multiculturalism. What results and challenges outline its history today ?

 

Palais des Nations

 

10.09.2022 – 24.09-2022

AROUND THE WORLD ON A PLATE

Curators: Anja Seiler, Jacques Kaufmann, with the support of the UN Women’s Guild and Victoria Dzodziev, Director D10Art Space and co-curator of the exhibition

As a tribute to its founding in the immediate post-war period and in response to its primary mission, the IAC is organising, with the help of the UN Women’s Guild, an exhibition at the Palais de Nations on the theme “Around the World on a Plate”. The plate, as a cultural space, is a ceramic archetype that brings communities together around a table. Etymologically derived from “seat”, the plate is a nod to the “seats” of the Nations, when they are gathered at the UN General Assemblies. The plate has always been used for more than just sharing a meal. Its shape and format, which may remind us of a “table medal”, may also refer to a medium of communication and cultural identity, allowing a message to be passed on and a story to be told.

Opening: 14.09.2022

On the agenda: guided tours upon registration (details to come).

NOTE FOR VISITS: Registration is required at the Palais des Nations reception desk. All visitors are requested to bring their passports (UN member states or observers). Identity cards from the Schengen area are also accepted. Passports or identity cards will be checked at the Pregny gate.

Mon-Fri 9am-5pm

Pregny Gate
Avenue de la Paix 14
CH-1211 Geneva
In the centre of international Geneva and neighbour of the Ariana Museum, easily accessible by public transport TPG.


Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel & Château de Nyon

 

18.09.2022 – 05.03.2023 at the MahN

16.09.2022 – 05.03.2023 at the Château de Nyon

MELTING POT: swissceramics national exhibition

Curators: Philippe Lüscher, Lisa Laurenti and Vincent Lieber

The Museum of Art and History of Neuchâtel (MahN) is joining forces with the Château de Nyon to host the national ceramics exhibition organised by swissceramics on two sites. This exhibition is the result of a competition on the general theme of the Congress, Melting Pot. 24 artists were selected by an international jury and their works divided between the two museums: it thus presents an image of the excellence of the contemporary Swiss ceramic scene.

Featuring the artwork of Valérie Alonso, Arnold Annen, Joëlle Bellenot, Marie Bornet Lanz, Léandre Burkhard, Séverine Emery-Jaquier, Violette Fassbaender, Lynn Frydman Kuhn, Estelle Gassmann, Magdalena Gerber, Laure Gonthier, Nathalie Heid, Felix Hug, Timothée Maire, Aline Morvan, Kathi Müller-B, Agathe Naïto, Michèle Rochat, François Rüegg, Sébastien Schnyder, Heike Schuildhauer, Andrea Stebler, Eva Vogelsang, Claudia von Boch and hoï-Keramik.

Opening at the MahN: 17.09.2022

On the agenda: Guided tours, workshops, conferences (to be defined)

Tue-Sun 11am-6pm

Esplanade Léopold-Robert 1
CH- 2000 Neuchâtel
Located in the centre of Neuchâtel, accessible from Geneva by SBB train.

Website

Opening at the Château de Nyon: 15.09.2022

On the agenda: Guided tours, creative workshops for children and adults.

April to October: Tue-Sun 10am-5pm
November to March: Tue-Sun 2pm-5pm

Place du Château
CH- 1260 Nyon
Located in the centre of Nyon, accessible from Geneva by SBB train.

Website

Image d’archive.

Exhibitions

The 2022 Congress features various exhibitions alongside the conferences in partnership with local and national institutions.

(read more...)

EXHIBITIONS: Galleries and art spaces

The art scene in Geneva and the surrounding area is working hard to offer a programme alongside the 2022 IAC Congress that is rich in diversity and talent.

(read more...)

EXHIBITIONS: Young ceramics

Swiss training schools and higher education institutions are showing great enthusiasm for ceramics amount young people in Switzerland.

(read more...)

EXHIBITIONS: Museums and institutions

Many Swiss museums and institutions are joining the 50th IAC Congress.

(read more...)

Acknowledgements

Our sincere thanks.

(read more...)

EXPOSITIONS: AIC et swissceramics

 

Cage d’escalier monumentale du Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel (MahN) / Photo Stefano Iori

 

AIC et swissceramics

 

Pour les 70 ans de l’Académie Internationale de la Céramique (AIC), le Musée Ariana lui consacre trois expositions: une à ses membres et deux à son histoire. Une quatrième exposition organisée par l’AIC aura lieu au prestigieux Palais des Nations de l’ONU. Parallèlement, l’association swissceramics organise une exposition nationale sur deux lieux, le Château de Nyon et le Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel, présentant ainsi une image de la scène céramique suisse actuelle.

 

* Veuillez noter que les informations contenues sur cette page peuvent faire l’objet de modifications
 

Musée Ariana

 

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

MIGRATION(S)

Commissaire d’exposition: Hanspeter Dähler

Entre transfert de savoir-faire, transhumance ou multiculturalisme, la terre rassemble ; elle transgresse les frontières. Empreintes de pas dans le sable, baluchon, döner kebab, chrysalides, barques funéraires ou cabane en porcelaine : l’exposition des céramistes membres de l’AIC nous plonge au coeur de parcours insolites, de trajectoires de vie et d’échanges interculturels.

Avec les oeuvres de Montserrat Altet Girbau, Lia Bagrationi, Heidi Bjørgan, Leandre Burkhard, Razalina Busel, Fabien Clerc, Christine Coste, Michael Flynn, Yoshimi Futamura, Magdalena Gerber, Patricia Glave, Ana Lucia Gomez De Valle, Eliisa Isoniemi, Rashi Jain, Yanze JIANG, Jacques Kaufmann, Cecil Kemperink, Myung-joo Kim, Yoojoo Kim, Paul March, Yuriy Musatov, Jane Norbury, Danijela Pičuljan, Norma Rodney Harrack, Maude Schneider, Anja Seiler, Sıdıka Sevim, Adel Souki, Hongyu Tan, Hirotsune Tashima, Xavier Toubes, Estefania Valls Urquijo, Wan Liya, Nataliya Zuban.

Vernissage: 12.09.2022

Au programme: En cours d’élaboration.

Ma-Di 10h00-18h00

Avenue de la Paix 10
CH- 1202 Genève
Au centre de la Genève internationale et berceau de l’AIC, accessible facilement en transports publics TPG.

Site web

Cecil Kemperink

 

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

CONNEXIONS: 50 ANS DE DONS

Commissaire d’exposition: Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida

Des années 1960 à nos jours, le Musée Ariana, berceau de l’AIC, a reçu près de 600 dons d’artistes membres. Récipients, sculptures et installations provenant du monde entier, ces morceaux choisis dressent une cartographie céramique, entre bienfacture et liberté formelle, tradition et innovation.

13.09.2022 – 19.03.2023

VOCATION: 70 ANS D’HISTOIRE

Commissaire d’exposition: Stéphanie Le Follic-Hadida

L’AIC fédère une communauté internationale de professionnel de la céramique au meilleur niveau. En postulant l’universalité de la culture céramique comme une valeur fondatrice, l’AIC se veut actrice du multiculturalisme. Quels bilans et enjeux dessinent aujourd’hui son histoire ?

 

Palais des Nations

 

10.09.2022 – 24.09-2022

UN TOUR DU MONDE PAR L’ASSIETTE

Commissaires d’exposition: Anja Seiler, Jacques Kaufmann, avec le soutien de la UN Women’s Guild et Victoria Dzodziev, Directrice D10Art Space et co-curatrice de l’exposition 

En hommage à sa fondation dans l’immédiat après-guerre et pour répondre à sa mission principale, l’AIC organise avec l’aide de la UN Women’s Guild une exposition au Palais de Nations sur le thème «Un tour du monde par l’ assiette». L’assiette, comme espace culturel, est un archétype céramique qui rassemble des communautés autour d’une table. Etymologiquement dérivé de « siège », l’assiette est un clin d’oeil aux « sièges » des Nations, lorsqu’elles sont réunies lors des Assemblées Générales à l’ONU. Depuis toujours, l’assiette n’a pas comme seule fonction de partager un repas. Sa forme et son format qui peuvent faire penser à une « médaille de table », peuvent également faire référence à un support de communication et d’identité culturelle, permettant de faire passer un message, de raconter une histoire.

Vernissage: 14.09.2022

Au programme: visite guidée sur inscription (détails à venir).

REMARQUE POUR LES VISITES: inscription obligatoire auprès de la réception du Palais des Nations. Chaque personne est priée de se munir de son passeport (Etats membres ou observateurs des Nations Unies). Les cartes d’identité de la zone Schengen sont également acceptées. Les passeports ou les cartes d’identités seront vérifiés à l’entrée au portail de Pregny.

Lu-Ve 9h00-17h00

Portail de Pregny
14 Avenue de la Paix
CH-1211 Genève
Au centre de la Genève internationale et voisin du Musée Ariana, accessible facilement en transports publics TPG.


Musée d’art et d’histoire Neuchâtel & Château de Nyon

 

18.09.2022 – 05.03.2023 au MahN

16.09.2022 – 05.03.2023 au Château de Nyon

MELTING POT: Exposition nationale swissceramics

Conservateurs: Philippe Lüscher, Lisa Laurenti et Vincent Lieber

Le Musée d’art et d’histoire de Neuchâtel (MahN) s’associe au Château de Nyon pour accueillir, sur deux sites, l’exposition nationale de céramique organisée par swissceramics. Cette exposition est le fruit d’un concours sur le thème général du Congrès, Melting Pot. 24 artistes ont été sélectionnés par un jury international et leurs œuvres réparties entre les deux musées : elle présente ainsi une image de l’excellence de la scène céramique suisse contemporaine.

Avec les oeuvres de Valérie Alonso, Arnold Annen, Joëlle Bellenot, Marie Bornet Lanz, Léandre Burkhard, Séverine Emery-Jaquier, Violette Fassbaender, Lynn Frydman Kuhn, Estelle Gassmann, Magdalena Gerber, Laure Gonthier, Nathalie Heid, Felix Hug, Timothée Maire, Aline Morvan, Kathi Müller-B, Agathe Naïto, Michèle Rochat, François Rüegg, Sébastien Schnyder, Heike Schuildhauer, Andrea Stebler, Eva Vogelsang, Claudia von Boch et Robi Wehrle.

Vernissage au MahN: 17.09.2022

Au programme: Visites commentées, ateliers, conférences

Ma-Di 11h00-18h00

Esplanade Léopold-Robert 1
CH- 2000 Neuchâtel
Situé au centre-ville de Neuchâtel, accessible depuis Genève par train CFF.

Site web

Vernissage au Château de Nyon: 15.09.2022

Au programme: Visites commentées, ateliers créatifs pour enfants et adultes

Avril à octobre: Ma-Di 10h00-17h00
Novembre à mars: Ma-Di 14h00-17h00

Place du Château
CH- 1260 Nyon
Situé au centre-ville de Nyon, accessible depuis Genève par train CFF.

Site web

Image d’archive.

Expositions

Le Congrès 2022 propose diverses expositions en marge des conférences en partenariat avec des institutions locales et nationales.

(lire la suite...)

EXPOSITIONS: Galeries et espaces d’art

La scène artistique de Genève et région s'active afin de proposer, en marge du Congrès AIC 2022, un programme riche en diversité et en talents.

(lire la suite...)

EXPOSITIONS: Jeunes céramiques

Les centres de formation et les hautes écoles suisses démontrent un fort enthousiasme pour la création céramique de la jeunesse.

(lire la suite...)

EXPOSITIONS: Musées et institutions

De nombreux musées et institutions suisses se joignent au 50ème Congrès de l'AIC.

(lire la suite...)

Remerciements

Nos remerciements.

(lire la suite...)