POST TOUR: Ceramic circuit

Vue sur le lac Léman depuis Ouchy, Lausanne.

 

– POST TOUR –
Ceramic circuit: Visits to museums and exhibitions around Lake Geneva

19 SEPTEMBER 2022

 
Members of the Geneva 2022 congress can choose the Post-tour which will take place by bus on Monday, September 19, departing from Geneva. The detailed programme will be posted later.

Lausanne


 
After a drive along the lake with a panoramic view of the Alps, you will reach your first destination, Lausanne, in Vaud canton, where you will be received by the director of the mudac, the only museum in French-speaking Switzerland dedicated exclusively to design and contemporary applied arts. The museum, which promotes transdisciplinarity and the dynamics of interactions between the multiple disciplines of contemporary art, lies in the heart of the new PLATEFORME 10 arts district. Here three museums dedicated to visual creation have been brought together: the mudac, the Cantonal Museum des Beaux-Arts (MCBA) and the Musée de l’Elysée (cantonal museum of photography). The mudac has a collection of design, contemporary glass art, contemporary jewellery, graphic arts and ceramics. Its new museum space within Plateforme 10 offers a rich selection of works from its prestigious collection of contemporary glass art, one of the largest in Europe. The collections of contemporary jewellery, ceramics, design and prints are presented alternately within the permanent exhibition. The mudac shares with the Elysée museum the beautiful building designed by the Portuguese architects Francisco and Manuel Aires Mateus where a bay window, to the south of the exhibition halls, offers an exceptional view of the lake and the Alps.

© Plateforme 10

Yverdon-les-Bains


 
After lunch, you will arrive in Yverdon-les-Bains to visit the exhibition of contemporary plastic arts “Melting Pot or how to change lead into gold”, organized by the Visarte Vaud association, the Centre d’art contemporain of Yverdon-les-Bains and the Museum of Yverdon and region, housed in a fortified castle and seigneurial residence of the 13ᵉ century. This exhibition brings together artists from diverse backgrounds, presenting installations, sculptures, poems and performances. A collection of historical pieces will accompany the works. Melting Pot – or the melting pot of cultures – is a mix of artists who express themselves in clay: visual artists or ceramists, with diverse training, techniques and expressions but with one point in common: Ceramics. Located in the centre of Yverdon-les-Bains, the castle has, since 1915, housed the museum which traces the history of the city and its territory over almost 8000 years.

©MY / T. Porchet

Prangins


 

You will end your journey at the Château de Prangins, open exclusively that day for your group. The director and curator of ceramics and precious metals of the Swiss National Museum in Zurich will show you around the rooms of the permanent exhibition “Noblesse oblige! Castle life in the 18th century” with a particular focus on the ceramic objects on display. The exhibition invites visitors to enter the daily life of a noble family in the Pays de Vaud during the Age of Enlightenment. The old reception rooms, which include a lounge, dining rooms and libraries, have been restored to their former glory and form the setting of the exhibition which serves as a showcase for some 600 period objects.

The castle’s vegetable garden, created in the 18th century, restored to its original form, is now a conservatory dedicated to the preservation of old regional varieties and the presentation of domestic biodiversity. On its 5500m2 nearly 200 species and varieties of fruits, vegetables and herbs present in the region in the 18th century, are cultivated following the principles of organic farming.

It is the produce from the vegetable garden that, depending on availability, will adorn the beautiful plates of the Café du Château where you will end the day with a convivial dinner.

© Musée national suisse

   
   
   
   

Programme

The Geneva 2022 Congress will address notions related to the "melting pot".

(read more...)

Exhibitions

The 2022 Congress features various exhibitions alongside the conferences in partnership with local and national institutions.

(read more...)

Congress theme

The theme of the 2022 Congress is "Melting Pot. From Alchemical Crucible to Cultural Crucible."

(read more...)

Registration, fees and policy

Registration is now open.

(read more...)

POST TOUR: Circuit céramique

Vue sur le lac Léman depuis Ouchy, Lausanne.

 

– POST TOUR –
Circuit céramique : Visites des musées et expositions autour du lac de Genève

LE 19 SEPTEMBRE 2022

 
Les membres du congrès Genève 2022 peuvent choisir de suivre le Post-tour qui se fera en bus le lundi 19 septembre, au départ de Genève. Le programme détaillé sera mis en ligne ultérieurement.

Lausanne


 
Après avoir longé le lac et profité de la vue sur les Alpes, vous atteindrez votre première destination, la ville vaudoise de Lausanne, où vous serez reçus par la directrice du mudac, seule institution de Suisse romande dédiée exclusivement au design et aux arts appliqués contemporains. Le musée, qui favorise la transdisciplinarité et la dynamique des échanges entre les multiples disciplines de l’art contemporain, se situe au cœur du nouveau quartier des arts PLATEFORME 10 qui regroupe trois institutions muséales dédiées à la création visuelle : le mudac, le Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts (MCBA) et le Musée de l’Elysée (musée cantonal de la photographie). Le mudac possède une collection de design, art verrier contemporain, bijoux contemporains, arts graphiques et céramique. Son nouvel espace muséal au sein de Plateforme 10 permet de proposer une riche sélection d’œuvres de la prestigieuse collection d’art verrier contemporain, l’une des plus importantes en Europe. Les collections de bijoux contemporains, de céramique, de design et d’estampes sont présentées en alternance au sein de l’exposition permanente. Le mudac partage avec le musée de l’Elysée le beau bâtiment conçu par les architectes portugais Francisco et Manuel Aires Mateus où une baie vitrée, au sud des salles d’exposition, offre une vue exceptionnelle sur le lac et les Alpes.

© Plateforme 10

Yverdon-les-Bains


 
Après un déjeuner convivial, vous visiterez à Yverdon-les-Bains l’exposition d’arts plastiques contemporains « Melting Pot ou comment changer du plomb en or », organisée par l’association Visarte Vaud, le Centre d’art contemporain Yverdon-les-Bains et le Musée d’Yverdon et région abrité dans un château fort et résidence seigneuriale du 13ᵉ siècle. Cette exposition réunit des artistes d’horizons divers, qui présentent installations, sculptures, poèmes et performances. Une collection de pièces historiques accompagnera les œuvres. Melting Pot – ou le creuset des cultures – est un brassage d’artistes qui s’expriment avec la terre : plasticien.ne.s ou céramistes, de formations, de techniques et d’expressions diverses mais avec un lien : la Céramique. Situé au centre-ville d’Yverdon-les-Bains, le château accueille depuis 1915 le musée qui retrace l’histoire de la ville et de son territoire sur presque 8000 ans.

©MY / T. Porchet

Prangins


 

Et vous terminerez votre périple au Château de Prangins ouvert exclusivement ce jour-là pour votre groupe. La directrice et le conservateur de la céramique et des métaux précieux du Musée national suisse de Zurich vous feront visiter les salles de l’exposition permanente « Noblesse oblige ! La vie de château au 18e siècle » avec un focus particulier sur les objets en céramique exposés. L’exposition invite les visiteurs à pénétrer dans le quotidien d’une famille noble du Pays de Vaud au siècle des Lumières. Les anciennes salles de réception, qui comprennent salon, salles à manger et bibliothèques, ont retrouvé leur lustre d’autrefois et forment le décor de l’exposition qui sert d’écrin à quelque 600 objets d’époque.

 Le potager du château, créé au 18e siècle, restitué dans sa forme originelle, est désormais un conservatoire voué à la préservation d’anciennes variétés régionales et à la présentation de la biodiversité domestique. Sur ses 5500m2, on y cultive, selon les principes de l’agriculture biologique, près de 200 espèces et variétés de fruits, légumes, aromatiques et utilitaires présents dans la région au 18e siècle.

Ce sont les récoltes du Potager qui garniront, selon les disponibilités, les belles assiettes du Café du Château où vous terminerez la journée autour d’un dîner chaleureux.

© Musée national suisse

   
   
   
   

Programme

Le programme du Congrès Genève 2022 répondra aux notions liées au "melting pot".

(lire la suite...)

Expositions

Le Congrès 2022 propose diverses expositions en marge des conférences en partenariat avec des institutions locales et nationales.

(lire la suite...)

Thème du Congrès

Le thème du Congrès 2022 est "Melting Pot. Du creuset alchimique au creuset culturel."

(lire la suite...)

Inscription, tarifs et conditions générales

Les inscriptions sont maintenant ouvertes.

(lire la suite...)