Theme of the Congress

United Nations, Geneva.

 

 

“Melting Pot. From Alchemical Crucible to Cultural Crucible.”

The less human cultures were able to communicate with each other and thus corrupt each other through contact, the less their respective emissaries were able to perceive the richness and significance of this diversity. Claude Lévy-Strauss, Tristes Tropiques (1955)


 

The theme of the Geneva 2022 Congress “Melting Pot. From Alchemical Crucible to Cultural Crucible” draws on the international dimension of Geneva, a city where 184 different nationalities mingle and which hosts international organizations such as the UN, ILO, WHO, WTO, Red Cross, WIPO. This theme is also linked to AIC’s official partnership with UNESCO as a non-governmental organization, thus emphasizing the universality of working with clays, in its diversity.

The crucible is a container used to melt mainly metals and glasses. The tool of the alchemist, metallurgist, glassmaker or ceramist is a cradle for fusion, transformation, even transmutation by exchanges and combinations.

 

In sociology, the melting pot is a metaphor used to designate a society becoming homogeneous and universal, the different elements combining to form a single harmonious whole, with a common culture. The term “cultural melting pot” came into use at the beginning of the 20th century to describe the fusion of nationalities, cultures and ethnicities. But this concept seems nowadays to have become a myth in the face of communitarianism and clashes between cultures.

In the crucible, forces and elements unite to transform and imprint on materials or processes – as well as on the social and cultural body – various compositions, re-compositions and decompositions.


 

Your actions are born in the melting pot of your heart. If it is pure they will be pure, if it is not pure they will be vitiated. William Blake McEdwards

 

About

Presentation of the 50th IAC Congress and General Assembly.

(read more...)

Programme

The Geneva 2022 Congress will address notions related to the "melting pot".

(read more...)

Lectures

Information on the lectures.

(read more...)

Congress Headquarters

The International Conference Centre Geneva (CICG) will host the 2022 IAC Congress in Geneva.

(read more...)

Thème du Congrès

Nations Unies, Genève.

   

 

 

« Melting Pot. Du Creuset alchimique au creuset culturel. »

Moins les cultures humaines étaient en mesure de communiquer entre elles et donc de se corrompre par leur contact, moins aussi leurs émissaires respectifs étaient capables de percevoir la richesse et la signification de cette diversité. Claude Lévy-Strauss, Tristes Tropiques (1955)


 

Le thème du Congrès Genève 2022 « Melting Pot. Du Creuset alchimique au creuset culturel » prend appui sur la dimension internationale de Genève, une ville où se mêlent 184 nationalités différentes et qui accueillent des organisations internationales telles que ONU, BIT, OMS, OMC, Croix Rouge, OMPI. Ce thème est également lié au partenariat officiel de l’AIC avec l’UNESCO en tant qu’organisation non gouvernementale, soulignant ainsi l’universalité du travail de la terre, dans sa diversité.

Le creuset est un récipient servant à faire fondre principalement les métaux et les verres. L’objet-outil de l’alchimiste, du métallurgiste, du verrier ou du céramiste est le lieu, l’espace d’une fusion, d’une transformation, voire d’une transmutation par échanges et combinaisons.

 

En sociologie melting pot est une métaphore employée pour désigner une société devenant homogène et universelle, les différents éléments se combinant pour ne former qu’un seul ensemble harmonieux, avec une culture commune. Le terme « creuset culturel » est devenu effectif au début du XXe siècle pour décrire la fusion de nationalités, de culture et d’ethnicités. Mais ce concept semble de nos jours être devenu un mythe devant les communautarismes et les affrontements entre cultures.

Dans le creuset se rejoignent des forces et des éléments qui mène inéluctablement au changement et qui impriment aux matériaux ou aux processus – comme au corps social et culturel – des compositions, recompositions et décompositions diverses.


 
Tes actes naissent dans le creuset de ton cœur. Si celui-ci est pur ils seront purs, s’il ne l’est pas ils seront viciés. William Blake McEdwards  

A propos

Présentation du 50e Congrès et Assemblée Générale de l'AIC.

(lire la suite...)

Programme

Le programme du Congrès Genève 2022 répondra aux notions liées au "melting pot".

(lire la suite...)

Conférences

Informations concérnant les conférences.

(lire la suite...)

Le Siège du Congrès

Le Centre International de Conférences Genève (CICG) accueillera le Congrès AIC 2022 à Genève.

(lire la suite...)